top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePasefika Chong Wong

POSTER 3 PROCESS - With Time

Updated: Apr 9, 2020

Poster 3 required us to create a storyboard using a technique of our choice, containing 12 frames and showing at least 3 key moments.

"A world of dew

and within every dewdrop

a world of struggle."

(Kobayashi Issa, 2020)

For my third and final haiku poster, I explored the theme of struggle as it was another key concept I derived from my poem. For my third poster, I did a water painting storyboard.

The process:

First, after I analyzed my haiku and chose struggle as my theme, I did an initial idea of how to plan my storyboard. This meant creating a persona and setting about who, what and where my scene was to take place. This was useful and effective as it allowed me get a more depth understanding of what I envision and therefore visualize a more detailed storyboard. I tried around multiple personas and settings as I realized after completing one, that I didn't quite like how it was positioned, or my frame shots weren't working together as well as I wanted so my message wasn't clearly portrayed.

The next thing I did was chose a storyline to go with and then refine my frame shots between each column (vertical).

I then lined in all my frames which were positioned in a downward linear position, and continued to refine my drawings as I saw I fit.

I used water color to blend my images well and portray my theme of struggle by using darker and lighter colorings. My color scheme was blues and yellows with shadows and this helped create complementary contrast in between my images as well as link my images together. As I painted my final poster, I explored principles of form and design such as color contrast, similarity between frame settings, and gradation.


Final:



WORKS CITIED:

Deb Polson, Faculty of Design, The University of Auckland (2020). Des101 Week4 Lecture. Retrieved from https://canvas.auckland.ac.nz/courses/45443/pages/week-4-lecture

Faculty of Design, The University of Auckland (2020). Des10 Week 4 Tutorial. Retrieved from https://canvas.auckland.ac.nz/courses/45443/pages/week-4-tutorial

Kobayashi Issa (2020). A world of Dew, Retrieved from https://www.readpoetry.com/10-vivid-haikus-to-leave-you-breathless/

25 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page